The Thing Quarterly - Issue 24 Rodarte - Voyager + Revolver
 - 1
The Thing Quarterly

The Thing Quarterly - Issue 24 Rodarte

Regular price $44.00 Sale price $80.00 Unit price per


Issue 24 takes the form of a clear vinyl picture disc encased in a special sleeve, jacket, and signature Thing box.  It includes:

- One 12 inch LP / 180 grams / 45 RPM

- 2 tracks by experimental group No Age

- Imagery by director/photographer Todd Cole

- A digital download card

- Limited run of 1500

- Made in the USA

Issue 24 is by Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte, with contributions from experimental punk group No Age and director/photographer Todd Cole.  It thematically revolves around the idea of deconstruction, a common theme in Rodarte's design work.  The record's sound and imagery are repurposed from ‘Aanteni’ (2010), a short art and fashion film produced by Rodarte, which also features direction by Todd Cole and an original soundtrack by No Age.  The film explores similar themes of balance and chaos. 

The 12” picture disc on clear vinyl features two tracks by No Age.  Side A provides the ambient 9-minute soundtrack from ‘Aanteni’ with an abstracted film still by Todd Cole.  Side B features a 13-minute live version of the track, “ruined” by looping the sound repeatedly on itself, with burnt remnants of Cole’s same film still.  A conceptualized inner sleeve and gatefold jacket house the issue, displaying more of Cole’s imagery.  The issue also includes a free download of both No Age tracks and comes shrink-wrapped in a signature THING Quarterly custom box.  

Released September 25, 2014.  

Catalog No: TTQ-ISS24

ABOUT RODARTE:  The American luxury label Rodarte was founded by Kate and Laura Mulleavy in Los Angeles in 2005. A conceptual and innovative brand, Rodarte is known for its artistic mixture of high couture, modern femininity, and California influences. For their intricately crafted, multi-layered garments and explorations into other art forms, Kate and Laura Mulleavy have won numerous awards and accolades, including the CFDA Womenswear Designer of the Year, United States Artists Grant, and Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award for Fashion in 2009; the National Arts Award from Americans for the Arts in 2010; and most recently, the Legend of Fashion Award from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in 2013. In 2010, the 16th Annual Broadcast Film Critics Awards nominated Kate and Laura for the ballet costumes they designed and produced for Darren Aronofsky’s film Black Swan. In 2011, their first solo show Rodarte: States of Matter, opened at the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, and later that year, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art presented RODARTE: Fra Angelico Collection, a collection of ten couture gowns. The designers have collaborated on special projects with Frank Gehry and Gustavo Dudamel on the LA Philharmonic’s production of Don Giovanni; Benjamin Millepied on costumes for the New York City Ballet’s Two Hearts and L.A. Dance Project’s Moving Parts; and Catherine Opie and Alec Soth on Rodarte, Catherine Opie, Alec Soth, their first monograph. Rodarte’s works are featured in the permanent collections of the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, the Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York City, and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

ABOUT NO AGE:  No Age is a two-person experimental punk group consisting of guitarist Randy Randall and drummer/vocalist Dean Allen Spunt. The band is based in Los Angeles and is currently signed to Sub Pop records.

ABOUT TODD COLE:  Todd Cole is a photographer and director based in Los Angeles, California. His photographs have appeared in international magazines including i-D, Purple, Self Service, POP, 032C, New York Times T Magazine, Vogue, The Fader, Art Review, The Journal, and Vogue Homme International. His photographs and films have been exhibited in Los Angeles, Paris, The United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Mexico City. Cole has collaborated with Rodarte on three short films, including ‘Aanteni’ (2010), ‘The Curve of Forgotten Things’ (2011), and ‘This Must Be The Only Fantasy’ (2013), which was awarded the Webby People’s Choice Award in 2014. 


Share this Product